Alberta Liberal Convention and Annual General Meeting

This is an open invitation for all members of the Alberta Liberal Party to attend the 2016 Annual General Meeting and Convention, May 13th and 14th in Red Deer.

Despite the losses of the 2015 provincial election it has been a good year for Liberals in Alberta as we celebrate the election of four federal MPs and begin the rebuilding of the provincial party in the new political and economic reality of Alberta.

The Convention will be held at the Sheraton, Red Deer, with a variety of interesting speakers and topics, culminating in the formal Annual General Meeting at 1PM on Saturday May 14th. There will be no charge to attend the Meeting, but $40 is the suggested contribution for those attending the Convention. 

The Convention will begin with a Reception on the Friday evening. Registration from 5:30PM to 7:30PM, Friday May 13th. Opening remarks at 7:30PM by President Karen Sevcik. The guest speaker will be local celebrity, historian, and past candidate for Red Deer North, Michael Dawe. 

Saturday morning there will be workshops on grass roots policy development; also we are delighted that Brian Rice will be able to join us to lead two sessions with a focus on growing constituency associations. Based in Vancouver, Brian has for the past several years been using his knowledge of building successful teams to help political organizations achieve success. We are looking forward to learning a great deal from him. Don't miss this opportunity.

When making a guestroom reservation, individuals can call into the hotel directly at 403.346.2091 and speak with the “in-house reservations” team, they are open Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm or individuals can [email protected]

When making a reservation guests can refer to the group code – AE13AC or name of the booking - Alberta Liberal AGM May 2016.

All reservations will need to be confirmed by 5pm on May 6th in order to receive the group rate on offer. 

Details for the Saturday morning program will be announced shortly.

Voting at General Meetings shall be open to all Members holding a valid membership as of the day prior to the General Meeting. Members whose membership has lapsed in the previous twelve months of the date of the General Meeting may vote if membership is renewed prior to the call to order of the General Meeting. Each member shall have one vote at General Meetings

Immediately following there will be a short Board of Directors meeting - it is hoped that all CA Presidents (or proxy vote)  and the new Executive will be able to attend.


May 13, 2016 at 7:00pm - May 14, 2016


Sheraton Hotel Red Deer


Gwyneth Midgely ·


Remi Tardif Kashmir Gill Haley Brown Clifford Fadden Jason Lusk Jerry Leasak Hudson Cooley Heather Albritton Patricia Monroe william norval Horner Michael Dawe Eric Peters Rob Spragins Debbie Cavaliere Marie-Jose Pang duane dawson Brent Mcfadyen Jerry Moore Harmon Moon Matthew Overdevest Nancy Stitsen Johnny Sorensen Joyce Assen John Roggeveen Jeffrey Rock Michelle Robinson Gwyneth Midgley Karen Sevcik donna wilson Victor Bujor Ruth Hunter Lynn Ambedian Arman Chak Judith Hall Janet Sisson Louise Rogers Mark Gilroy Kenneth Munro Ronald Brochu Wendy Cawson Matthew Gaiser Susan Belec-Nobbs Dan Maclennan John Monroe Jaisankar Sankara Narayanan Barry Cavanaugh Kate Henderson

Will you come?

Upcoming Events